top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKelly Frischmann

My Journey on Accutane: The Beginning

Like so many people, I've struggled with acne for what seems like a lifetime. I've tried all medications, treatments, topicals, diets, washes, you name it- I've tried it. Having spent so much money on the next "please be the cure" product, nothing ever worked. My whole life, I've been told, "Kelly, your acne isn't that bad at all. I don't even see anything." It's true, they often don't see how bad it gets-but thats because every day I go through the motions of covering it up. However, I find it hard hearing those words from others. Especially because I know whats going on with my skin underneath and how it affects many aspects of my life. For as long as I can remember, and as much as I have tried, I have never felt confident being bare-faced. I've never experienced that freedom of being able to go on with my day not thinking anything about my acne. I'm sure many people have felt like this and to be honest, it really takes a toll on your mental health after time.


In the beginning of March this year, I hit my breaking point. My acne had gotten absolutely out of control. Worse than it has been over the past few years. My face was in excruciating pain, my confidence deteriorated, and my mental state in a really dark place.


Mid-March, I finally had an appointment to see my dermatologist. When considering my options, I did not take it lightly. In my decision to start Accutane, I had to be fully committed, willing, and prepared for the side affects that will come in the future months. If you're not familiar with Accutane, you should know that it is an extremely serious and powerful medication that is used for severe acne patients. Usually, it's given after other medicines or antibiotics have been tried without successful treatments.


Accutane, basically, is an extremely high dose of vitamin A. Throughout the duration of the treatment, the drug will help reduce the amount of oil released by oil glands, which will help my skin renew itself more quickly and prevent acne from forming. While changes are happening in my body, serious side effects tend to follow. Depending on the dosage prescribed, depends on how powerful the side effects are. All bodies are different and react to medications differently, so I will be curious to how my treatment goes, how serious my side affects will be, and what I will learn along the way.


If you want to learn more about Accutane, I recommend taking a look at this article!


I think the best way to make the most of this journey will be to share my experience and possibly be a source of knowledge for others who may be about to start as well! So stay tuned for monthly updates, go-to products, self-care routines, and more!



0 comments
bottom of page