top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKelly Frischmann

How to Survive Social Distancing: 10 Things To Do

Hey everyone! With everything going on, in the world right now it can be really hard to get out of bed. Social distancing is so important, but staying at home and pausing your life can make you feel like you're going stir crazy. I thought I would share some positive ways to add some fun to your quarantined days!


1) Get out in nature (if you can).

Take a walk at your nearest forest preserve or around the neighborhood. This is something I make an effort to do every single day. whether its for 20 minutes or an hour. I instantly feel an improvement of mood and don't feel so trapped at home.


2) Start Journalling

What a better time to start writing your feelings and thoughts about what is going on in the world. Journaling is a great way to connect to your inner self in a very unique way. I make an effort to do this a few times a week, just to get thoughts off my chest, onto paper. Not to mention, how fun will it be to look back in 5 or 10 years and reminisce.


3) Clean your room (and open the windows).

Not only will it take up some time, you never realize how much better you will feel after tidying up your room until it's done. I make an effort to clean mine just about every day so I can feel more organized and motivated. If the weather is suitable and you have windows in your room, open them! Getting fresh air and sunlight in your room will also be an instant mood booster!


4) Try new recipes on Pinterest.

Ignite your inner chef or baker! Nothing passes time better than a little cooking. I've been spending a lot of time lately trying out new recipes! Check out my Food & Drink board on Pinterest for some great ideas! https://www.pinterest.com/wizkellifer/food-drink/


5) Play alcoholic board games (ages 21+).

Every once in a while, I break out a bored game and add alcohol into the mix. So many board games can be converted into a drinking game, so if your Saturday night is feeling a little lame, get your family around the table and start playing! My family tried "Champaign Checkers" and it did not disappoint! For some board game ideas, read this article. https://www.complex.com/pop-culture/2014/02/10-board-games-that-can-be-converted-into-drinking-games/


6) Do your makeup and get dressed up for fun (I do this all the time).

Getting ready is a great mood and confidence booster, making you feel a little more human if you've been wearing pajama's for the last month and a half. Put some makeup on, snap a selfie or get that self-timer going, and document your effort! Nothing wrong with having a little photoshoot with yourself!


7) Draw or paint

Embrace the artist within! Use your creativity and breakout some paintbrushes and see what you can create! If you can't draw or paint (like me), thankfully abstract art is an option for us! Just create lines and shapes and see what you can come up with. Sometimes I have trouble envisioning what I want to create so I'll hop on Pinterest for some inspiration.


8) Talk to friends and family on the phone.

Just because you cant see your friends in person, doesn’t mean you shouldn’t stay in touch. Make an effort to reach out. This is so important because social interaction is what helps people feel sane!


9) Start an at-home workout plan

Getting exercise is a great way to help improve your mood. Doing 30 minutes of work is better than none! I started Kayla Itsines Bikini Body Guide, which is a 12-week program with 28 minute HIIT workout circuits. Not only do they go by really fast, I feel so much better afterwards knowing that I've done something good for my body and mental health. This is one of the things that I look forward to everyday. It helps me stay motivated, on track, and have something to look forward to! Check out her results proven E-Books here! https://www.kaylaitsines.com/collections/guides


10) Virtual Travel using google maps (for the travel lover)

If you're like me, traveling is something that makes you feel more alive than anything else. During this time of not being able to travel, it's probably making you feel so disconnected from the world. So sometimes I virtual travel to places that I want to go. I also look through travel guides on Pinterest to help inspire me when I can actually plan trips in the future!


0 comments
bottom of page